My local Third Order has been going through the book “Franciscan Spirituality” by Brother Ramon over the last months and discussing a chapter each month. Since I find very little time for reading books at this stage in my life, I’ve always been behind.

During my Franciscan time today I read the chapter “The Evangelical Counsels” which explored and explained the vows of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience within the Franciscan Order.

I’ve always been drawn to the challenge and counter-cultural aspect of Poverty and I hope that my family and I learn to joyfully live much more simple and uncluttered lives. It is certainly a confusing idea at the moment when we are moving to a larger house and where Toby and Milo, 3 and 1, have (and need?) so many toys and books and play things. I’m also aware that Poverty challenges me, and our society, in terms of our technology, devices and gadgets. It’s not so much the cost of these things than the distractions they provide making our lives more complex rather than more simple.

Chastity always felt like the easy one, suggesting simple faithfulness to Mary-Lou. But Brother Ramon suggests:

We know that all our relationships, all our creativity, inspiration, and appreciation of things good, true and beautiful are suffused by our sexuality, which lends warmth, tenderness, and enchantment.

Celibacy, in such a context, is not a denial of sexuality, but a way of sharing that has not only an intellectual, but also an emotional and tender dimension.

My sexuality feels very shallow in this light!

The thing which stuck with me most from Brother Ramon’s writing about Obedience was the origin of the word.

The word obedience comes from the Latin root audire – to hear, to listen. The prefix, making it ob-audire, signifies instant and alert listening.

So the vow of Obedience is to be alert to the voice of The Spirit at all times, and react out of love for God, something I eagerly want to learn.